Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Endeavor 2 Dream | Eastern Province | IHQ 



LTC Erika L. Boone is the epitome of dedication and service to her community and our great nation. Erika attended a public military magnate high school where she excelled as a leader. By the time she graduated in 1995 she was the most decorated cadet in the history of the program. She was a three-time National Champion of Military Drill and Ceremonies as well as the team Commander.  She also served her community at Mount Vernon Baptist Church where she sang in the choir and participated in youth events. She is a member of the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.  Erika competed and received an Army Reserve Officers Training Course (ROTC) scholarship where she was the only minority in the program. After 17 years of Military Service and four combat deployments, Erika was promoted to Lieutenant Colonel and was selected to command 291 Soldiers of the 378th Expeditionary Military Intelligence Battalion.

Dr. Nicole Baker Fulgham is the founder and CEO of an educational non-profit organization “The Expectations Project” based in Washington, DC whose mission is to try to equalize the outcomes and expectations of students in public schools across the United States, whether from suburbia or urban settings. The Expectations Project facilitates places of worships, congregations and influences policy across the US to achieve equality and reduce this glaring disparity among our Public Schools. Nicole graduated from University of Michigan and received her Doctorate in Education at UCLA. She has authored two books, Educations all God’s Children and Schools in Crisis. She has appeared on CNN and ABC. Christianity Today named her one of “50 women leaders influencing the Church and Culture.”

Dr. Alice H. Howard has had an outstanding career. She has been a teacher, Supervisor, Principal, Director of Instruction, Title I Director, Assistant Superintendent and Superintendent.  Her efforts led her to Virginia Union University as an Adjutant Professor where she grew the admissions weekend college. Dr. Howard has demonstrated exceptional high levels of achievement in the field of education, community, churches and other areas of life where she has made a positive impact on the lives of others.  She is a “Servant Leader,” role model, and worthy of emulation. Dr. Howard is an active member in Prince William County Alumnae Chapter/delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. She is a past awardee recipient of the Pan Hellenic Council. Dr. Howard is also the past President of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. Northern Virginia Chapter, (NOVA).  She was President in Arlington, VA for five years and under her leadership, NOVA received a National Award in the area of Health Education/HIV-AIDS program.

Lena Hickman-Miott is on the Executive Committee of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Psi Rho Omega Chapter serving Loudoun County. She is a distinguished pioneer in the field of Electrical Engineering and was recognized by the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., as the first African female to graduate from the University of Pittsburg School of Electrical Engineering. She is on the Board of Directors for the Information Technology Senior Management Forum (ITSMF), a national organization that increases the representation of black professionals at senior levels in technology to impact organizational innovation and growth. Mrs. Hickman-Miott designed hardware and software for aircraft simulators at General Electric’s Space Division, developing software for Lightweight Torpedo and Naval Sonar Systems for Honeywell’s Maine Systems Division for the US Navy.  She has driven results for multiple community programs involving family strengthening, financial responsibility, health promotion and STEM programs for middle school and ASCEND high school students. She is a leader and role model.

Dr. N. Joyce Payne founded the nationally recognized Thurgood Marshall College Fund in 1987. The TMCF is designed exclusively for exceptional student at the nation’s 47 publicly-supported Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU’s). Since its founding, the Fund had raised over $300 million dollars to provide financial and programmatic support for “Thurgood Marshall Scholars.” Dr. Payne was the president Global Systems, Inc. and was a senior staff member under the Carter administration with the President’s Advisory Committee for Woman; President’s National Advisory Council on Women’s Education Programs, and the White House Conference on Families. She taught at the former Federal City College and at George Washington University. In 2016, she received the Black Enterprise Legacy Award and the Centennial Trailblazer Award sponsored by the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Dr. Payne was inducted into the District of Columbia’s Hall of Fame and the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame.  She served on the Board of trustees of the District of Columbia for nine years and served for two years as chair of the Board.

Mark Hopson, Chairman

Email: WOAChairman@gmail.com

Thomas Jefferson

Brian Jones

Michael L. Boyd

Roy Brown

Ben Abney
Anthony Ashby
Gerald Harvey
Chuck Spencer
Ivan Johnson
Board of Directors

Ben Abney
Scholarship Chairman

Mark Hopson
WOA Chairman

Dulles-Leesburg (VA) Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi, Fraternity, Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software